Prophets and Their Friends (Part 2)

Some biblical interpreters have critiqued Western Christians for always seeing themselves in the heroes of the stories. We like to relate to the great prophets such as Jeremiah, especially the part where God chose him before he was born (Jer 1:5). Jeremiah didn’t see much of what we’d consider success in his lifetime, but he did get a whole book named after him, and he spoke with God on intimate terms.

Sometimes I get discouraged at how little I have accomplished. I wonder whether I’m making any lasting contribution, whether people will remember me when I’m gone. It heartens me to think that I may never be a great prophet, but I might be a friend of a prophet. Jeremiah’s ministry was supported by often-forgotten people who confronted injustice, spoke the truth, used their skills and connections, provided basic help, and found ways around constraints and limitations confronting the prophet.

And God does not forget them. Right before Jerusalem falls to the Babylonians, while Jeremiah is still imprisoned, the word of Yahweh comes to him specifically for Ebed-Melek. God promises to rescue Ebed-Melek when the city is destroyed and let him escape with his life, “because you trust in me, declares the LORD” (39:18). Apparently Ebed-Melek has embraced the Jewish faith and believes what God has been declaring through Jeremiah, even though the king and majority of native-born people are rebellious idolators. The faithful foreigner is saved while God’s chosen people die or go into captivity.

Baruch also receives a specific message from Yahweh after he records Jeremiah’s words. God says he knows Baruch has been lamenting and feeling ill-used. Instead of patting him on the back, though, God emphasizes the coming wars and judgment. “Should you then seek great things for yourself? Do not seek them. For I will bring disaster on all people, declares the LORD, but wherever you go I will let you escape with your life” (45:5).

This is not a passage that gets stamped on mugs or graduation cards. People have always had a propensity to seek great things for themselves, perhaps in our era more than ever. We celebrate and imitate those who seek great things for themselves.

But I find this message strangely comforting. God understands Baruch’s pain and meets him there, but he also gives a bigger perspective. Everyone is going to suffer and bear extreme loss. Because Baruch has stayed faithful to God, he will survive—and he should be grateful. His personal happiness and accomplishments are not the center of the story. But he’s done what he was called to do, and that’s enough.

Of course, we know that Baruch’s story will be preserved and retold for every generation to come. Maybe it’s a reminder of how God uses ordinary people—of every nation and background, famous and unnamed, powerful and powerless. In times of crisis, when life seems unstable and unpredictable, it’s easy for everyone to seek their own safety and gain. Baruch and Ebed-Malek stood against cultural pressure and physical danger because they saw the bigger picture. They did not seek great things for themselves; they just did the right thing that they could do.

I may not be a great prophet, or leader, or writer. But I can help spread the words and work of true prophets. I can offer my resources and abilities to support those who are doing courageous ministry that I can’t do. I can faithfully labor at what God has given me, looking for opportunities to speak up and help out. The God of the universe knows me, communicates with me, and wants me to partner with him in his work in this world. What greater thing is there than that?

1 thought on “Prophets and Their Friends (Part 2)”

  1. This is wonderful. It is so reassuring to remember that we are not the central character of the story, as God reminded Baruch—and that God makes a difference through us even when we are simply helping out.

    I really appreciate you giving time to these oft neglected books in the Bible. Thank you for the encouragement, Rebecca.

Leave a comment